1st Blog Post of 2017: The Pussy Hat Project & #sharetheloveheart Plans

It’s a bit late to say “Happy New Year!” now but as this is my first post of 2017 I’ll just say “hello again”! *waves*

January has pretty much been a time to reflect, set goals (personal and business-y), plan, prepare and make for the year ahead, which is why there’s not been much to say on here yet until plans and goals start to come to life a bit more than their current form as notes in a journal and half finished projects.

If you follow me on Instagram, then you’ll have seen that not everything I’ve done has had to be kept under wraps for future months. There were times when some of the things I did this month were ‘picture worthy’. Mostly of cute commissions I’ve done and some learn-to-crochet workshop plans. (You can see more here.)

One of the things I was particularly proud of making and sharing was the pussyhat I knitted. The pattern didn’t necessarily take a long time to do or was nastily complicated in any way, but I was proud of it because I felt that in my own small way I was showing solidarity, support, and participation in the hugely inspiring Women’s Marches that I couldn’t physically take part in last weekend because, sadly, there wasn’t one on the Isle of Man (and I didn’t have enough time or funds to get myself to a UK one…).

16358684_10211475826432189_805434903_n

The ‘Pussyhat’ I made and shared on Instagram: @grainnelikenarnia

But despite that, it was truly an inspiring, emotionally uplifting and magical thing to see the immense turn out of people who all came together on that day. All united with the sames values of basic human equality, respect and kindness, and all wearing pink hats as diverse as the people wearing them! The project even made the most recent cover of TIME magazine! If you want to read more about The Pussy Hat Project you can on their website here.

pussyhat-project-image

Image courtesy of  Reuters – Shannon Stapleton via http://www.pussyhatproject.com

I admit though that as inspiring and empowering as it was to see the women’s marches all over my social media, I did feel really disappointed that I wasn’t physically a part of it all. They even had one in Edinburgh where I used to go to University, so I felt even more cheated that I couldn’t get more involved somehow. The idea of actually leaving your room/house to participate in something so positive really appealed to me, especially as it was for a cause I feel so passionate about. To anyone who knows me, I’m not a huge fan of crowds, so me saying this is quite significant! I have therefore resolved to try and get more involved with the things I feel passionate about, beyond sharing a poignant article about it on social media.

Which leads me nicely to the next thing I wanted to talk about. Valentine’s Day is coming up soon and though I’m not overly keen on some of the pressures it brings, (namely that it can sometimes make people feel that they must be in a relationship to feel worthwhile or valued), I did want to use the theme of love in a more inclusive and worthwhile way than in strictly romantic terms. I wanted to extend the love and compassion we see around Valentine’s Day to friends, family, and strangers as well.

So, in the spirit of the immense human compassion I saw all over my social media last weekend at the marches I wanted to try and keep up that idea of a community all working towards and participating in the same thing. Something I have also always wanted to do is to organise a yarn bomb. So why not combine the two and organise a Valentine’s week heart bomb?

A few inspiring heart bomb images from bloggers taking part in past heart bombs. Click their images to see their blogs.

A knitting and crochet blog I read a few years ago, One SheepishGirl (now One Social Girl) used to annually hold a heart bomb every Valentine’s week. A heart bomb is similar to a yarn bomb and if you don’t know what a either is it is essentially a form of non-permanent urban graffiti mostly knitted, crochet or other materials are used to convey a message or artistic statement. For a heart bomb, the theme would be more exclusively (yep you guessed it) hearts. Essentially everyone joining in would knit/crochet/sew/make small hearts, attach uplifting compliments to them, and leave them around local communities, with a hashtag so that they can be shared and seen on social media.

If you want to take a look at the original heart bomb post from that blog you can here, it also has a the pattern for these very easy 2D crochet hearts that I made last year (pictured below).

valentines-hearts

Little crochet hearts I made as part of the #sheepishheartbomb last year

 

Because I loved this idea so much I wanted to try and encourage my own heart bomb here on the Isle of Man with empowering messages attached, some perhaps in the Manx language (a brilliant idea thought of by some friends). I love it because no matter who you are, a positive message never goes amiss, a little kindness benefits everyone. When we are reminded to feel positive about ourselves or each other, the more positive thought and action we experience for the future.

high-definition-rainbow-hearts

Amigurumi rainbow hearts pictured by me for a workshop on the 11th February

If you want to get involved with this, either here on the Isle of Man with me or in your own communities, then here is what we’re going to do.

  1. Make your heart(s): Crochet, knit, sew, make however many hearts you want.
  2. Write a message: Write an empowering and positive message, quote, or song lyric for your heart and attach it to your heart. Include the hashtag #sharetheloveheart so that everyone knows where they can find them on social media. If you’re from the Isle of Man you might want to also use the hashtag #loveheartprojectiom
  3. Set your hearts ‘wild’: Start putting your hearts about your local community. Anywhere you think people will see them like park benches, iron railings, trees etc. (having a ball of string in your pocket might be handy to secure them).
  4. Share your hearts: Take pictures if you can of your hearts or others that you spot and share, share, share with the hashtag #sharetheloveheart or #lovelheartprojectiom

The heart bomb will take place over Valentine’s week so you can begin setting them loose from the 12th February until the 19th. Take pictures, share them on social media, share any posts about it and enjoy!

I will be making a facebook page for this as well as a platform to share inspiration, patterns and pictures of all our hearts, so look out for that over this weekend! I can’t wait to see your hearts!

Peace and love to you all & happy Friday!

Gráinne ❤

2 thoughts on “1st Blog Post of 2017: The Pussy Hat Project & #sharetheloveheart Plans

Leave a Reply

